The Day I Became a Flower in Noboribetsu, Japan

COVID-19 ruined many of our travel plans. We just need to wait it out – watch Netflix, eat, and exercise at the comfort of our OWN home. I’ve done every single one of those every day for a week now so to change things up, I’m going to share a travel story:

MY FUNNY TRAVEL STORY IN NOBORIBETSU, JAPAN

August 6-8, 2019 — From Hakadote to Noboribetsu, I took the JR shinkansen for over three hours. From Noboribetsu Station, I took a bus to my hotel – Noboribetsu Manseikaku – for another 20 minutes just in time for check-in. Instead of staying in at the hotel, I didn’t want to waste any adventure time. I walked to Hell Valley for 30 minutes – it should have been 15, but I stopped at different spots to take pictures and stare at the amazing views. 

When I got to Hell Valley, I was mesmerized! It was just like the photos I saw on Google. UNBELIEVABLE. I spent some time taking photos and videos (and helping other tourists take their photos). From the valley, there were different walking trails through the forested hills above Noboribetsu that lead to other sightseeing areas: Oyunuma (sulfurous pond) and the Oyunumagawa Natural Foot Bath. 

I had spent a great amount walking on this trip (over 20 thousand steps each day). At this time, I was already on the second week of my Hokkaido summer trip and my feet has been s-o-r-e, sore. I thought that heading to the Natural Foot Bath was ideal: I could sit around, enjoy the scenery, and just reeeeeeeeelax. 

I followed the trail that pointed towards the Foot Bath, but little did I know, the trail had a lot of bees. Because I had dyed my hair blonde recently, with the sun shining on it, it seems to have attracted ALL the bees in the area. I have never been stung by a bee and I do not want to be stung by one ever so after hearing a bunch of bzzzz bzzz from this single bee, I walked faster. I did not want to make it obvious that I was terrified. There was a group behind me and I didn’t want to embarrass myself further. I heard them laugh, but I just kept on walking faster until I reached the stairs. It seems that my speed walking worked… for 5 seconds! The bee (not sure if it was the same one) started coming at me again. I heard bzzz bzzzz. I started to run. I went for the stairs taking two at a time when possible… then, another bee came. Then another. Now, three bees…. then four bees. 

I was even more terrified at this time, screaming and flying my arms around… still running. I could hear people laughing – at me or to each other I didn’t care. I wanted to get rid of the bees. I wanted them to leave me alone. I kept running and running for what seemed like eternity. I wasn’t even sure where I was anymore until I hit a spot with an amazing view. Then I realized, I was only running away from ONE BEE! ONE BEE! ONE! My panic had made me believe there were ten bees swarming me. 

When I had stopped running (I needed to! I was out of breathe) and just ducked and covered my ears for a few seconds, the bee left me alone. As I stood up, I heard running and screaming. The group that was trailing behind me was now being attacked. HA! 

I looked out to this amazing view and breathed a sigh of relief – no more bees! But I needed to walk further to get to the Foot Bath. At this point, I had given up. It was already getting dark and I wanted to get back down before the sun set. I didn’t want to go back where I came from and be swarmed by bees (or bee) again so I took a risk and went further hoping I’d find my way out of the mountain. I did. I found the Oyunuma Pond, took some pictures, and walked along the road instead of taking the shortcut of running through the forest attracting a single bee. 

Do you have any funny travel story? I’d love to hear about it! Xoxo, Amy.

One thought on “The Day I Became a Flower in Noboribetsu, Japan”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started